What makes people turn away?

I remember talking to a colleague when I worked in Melbourne back in 1999 – who told me about their walk to work. They told me how they passed a homeless person begging and said; “Come on, I’ll buy you something from McDonalds”. The homeless guys declined, asking for the money instead. In this example, my colleague didn’t turn away – they were turned away.

This resonates with what other people have said about why they themselves resist giving money to the homeless, in case it supports their potential substance abuse habit. In other cases some of the beggars make a lot of money from their “day job” – more than the average wage. Is it selfishness, self righteousness, wisdom, or some version of the bystander effect that has the majority of people ignore the homeless – who seem to be people in need.

My last story on this involves coming home late (one morning!) in Melbourne and witnessing a beggar take up his position. He removed his brand new Nikes, hide them in his bag, then twist one foot around underneath and secured it – to make him look like a one legged beggar. I wouldn’t have believed it had I not seen it myself…

And then there are those who society has truly missed…

About Bridget Dunn

A real estate professional since 2012, Bridget is known for integrity, diplomacy and sincerity in all her dealings. She has first and foremost strived to be someone in whom her clients and colleagues can put their trust and faith. Treating clients like family is both a guiding principal and way of life for Bridget. She is dedicated to listening intently to her clients needs and providing the best possible advice, from how to get the best sales result for their home, to matching individuals and families with the properties that best suit their needs.
This entry was posted in Psychology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What makes people turn away?

  1. I’ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me realize so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

